

ACADEMY OF THE SOCIAL SCIENCES IN AUSTRALIA

21 September 2016

Media Release

ASSA ELECTS THIRTY-NINE NEW FELLOWS IN 2016

The President of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia, Professor Glenn Withers AO, is pleased to announce that thirty-nine new Fellows of the Academy will be inducted at the Academy's Annual Symposium and General Meeting 7-9 November 2016.

Each of these scholars has been recognised by the Academy as having built a distinguished research career in one or more social science disciplines in Australia.

Professor Philip Adams, Professor, Centre of Policy Studies, Victoria University.

Professor Jonathon Barnett, Professor and ARC Future Fellow, School of Geography, The University of Melbourne.

Professor Amanda Barnier, ARC Future Fellow, Department of Cognitive Science, Australian Hearing Hub, Macquarie University.

Professor Kerry Carrington, Head of School of Justice, Faculty of Law, Queensland University of Technology.

Professor Louise Chappell, Professor of Politics, UNSW Australia.

Professor Fang Lee Cooke, Distinguished Professor, Human Resource Management and Asia Studies, Monash University.

Professor Jenny Corbett, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Research and Research Training, The Australian National University.

Professor Louisa Degenhardt, Professor of Epidemiology, UNSW Australia.

Professor Tim Dunne, Professor of International Relations, The University of Queensland.

Professor Nicholas Evans, Distinguished Professor, Department of Linguistics, School of Culture, History & Language; ARC Laureate Fellow; Director, ARC Centre of Excellence for the Dynamics of Language, The Australian National University.

Professor Andrew Goldsmith, Director, Centre for Crime Policy & Research and Strategic Professor of Criminology, Flinders University.

Professor Fiona Haines, Professor of Criminology, The University of Melbourne.



ACADEMY OF THE SOCIAL SCIENCES IN AUSTRALIA

Professor Richard Holden, Professor of Economics, UNSW Australia.

Professor David Kavanagh, Research Capacity Building Professor and Director of Research, School of Psychology and Counselling, Queensland University of Technology.

Professor Andrew Mackinnon, Professorial Fellow, Centre for Mental Health, Melbourne School of Population and Global Health, Melbourne University and Professorial Fellow, Black Dog Institute, University of New South Wales.

Professor Andrew Martin, Professor of Educational Psychology, UNSW Australia.

Professor Jane McAdam, Scientia Professor of Law and Director of the Andrew & Renata Kaldor Centre for International Refugee Law, UNSW Australia.

Professor Pauline McGuirk, Professor of Geography, University of Wollongong.

Professor Julie McLeod, Professor of Curriculum, Equity and Social Change, The University of Melbourne.

Professor Flavio Menezes, Professor of Economics, The University of Queensland.

Professor Martin Mills, Research Professor, School of Education, The University of Queensland.

Professor Melanie Nolan, Director, National Centre of Biography and General Editor, Australian Dictionary of Biography, The Australian National University.

Professor Anne Orford, Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor; Michael D Kirby Professor of International Law; ARC Kathleen Fitzpatrick Laureate Fellow, The University of Melbourne.

Professor Fiona Paisley, Professor, School of Humanities, Griffith University.

Dr Martin Parkinson, Secretary of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet.

Professor Haig Patapan, Professor, Griffith Business School and Director, Centre for Governance and Public Policy, Griffith University.

Professor David Rowe, Professor, Institute for Culture and Society, Western Sydney University.

Professor Matthew Sanders, Professor of Clinical Psychology and Director, Parenting and Family Support Centre, The University of Queensland.

Professor Anthony Scott, Professorial Research Fellow, Melbourne Institute of Applied Economic and Social Research, The University of Melbourne.

Professor Virginia Slaughter, Founding Director, Early Cognitive Development Centre, School of Psychology, The University of Queensland.



ACADEMY OF THE SOCIAL SCIENCES IN AUSTRALIA

Professor Laurajane Smith, Professor, Centre for Heritage and Museum Studies, School of Archaeology and Anthropology, The Australian National University.

Professor David Stern, Professor and Director International and Development Economics, Crawford School of Public Policy, The Australian National University.

Dr Carolyn Strange, Senior Fellow and Graduate Director, School of History, The Australian National University.

Dr Philip Taylor, Senior Fellow, Department of Anthropology, School of Culture, History & Language, The Australian National University.

Professor Rabee Tourky, Trevor Swan Chair, Research School of Economics

Professor John Trinder, Professor of Psychology, The University of Melbourne.

Professor Christina Twomey, Professor, School of Philosophical, Historical and International Studies, Monash University.

Professor Robert van Krieken, Professor of Sociology, The University of Sydney.

Professor Rosalie Viney, Professor of Health Economics and Director of the Centre for Health Economics Research and Evaluation, University of Technology Sydney.

For more information please contact:

Dr John Beaton Executive Director Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia

E: john.beaton@assa.edu.au

T: 02 6249 1788