BA (Hons) (Adelaide), PhD (London)
History, Heritage And Archaeology

Pressor Emerita, ANU, 2017-

Professor, Strategic and Defence Studies Centre, ANU, 2012-17

Dean of Education, College of Arts and Education, ANU, 2010-12

Director of the Faculty of Arts, ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences (2008-10)

Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Alfred Deakin Professor, Deakin University (1998-2008)

Member of the Education and Curriculum subcommittee of the Anzac Centenary Advisory Board, 2012

Department of Foreign Affairs Historical Documents Board, 2013-

Netherlands Institute for War and Holocaust Studies International Advisory Board

University of Alabama Press (War, Memory and culture series).

Medal of the Order of Australia

Fellow of Australian Institute of International Affairs

Prime Minister's Prize for Australian History (joint), 2014

NSW Premier's Prize (Australian History)

2014 Queensland Literary Award for History

Australian Society of Authors' 2015 Asher Award