Six Academy Fellows are amongst the list of 17 successful Australian Laureate Fellowships announced by the Australian Research Council (ARC) yesterday. The Australian Laureate Fellowships scheme reflects the Australian Government’s commitment to excellence in research by supporting world-class researchers to conduct research in Australia. The Academy extends its warmest congratulations to Distinguished Professor Xuemei Bai from ANU, Distinguished Professor Joshua Cinner from James Cook University, Professor Matthew Hornsey from the University of Queensland, Professor Sarah Pink from Monash University, and Professor Jane McAdam from UNSW, whose vital research projects within the social science disciplines will receive over $3million in funding.

A special acknowledgment must go to the recipient of the Kathleen Fitzpatrick Australian Laureate Fellowship, Professor Janeen Baxter from the University of Queensland. This is an ambassadorial Fellowship that aims to promote women in research and assist Early Career Researchers (ECRs) to establish international research connections. Professor Baxter’s research is focused on a new approach to caregiving and social relationships in the home to progress gender equality, safeguarding the potential of all Australians in the workplace.

Read more here: