A select group of Australia’s leading economists, lawyers, psychologists, philosophers and other social scientists have been elected as Fellows of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia.

Among the 37 researchers elected are renowned social justice leader Professor Rosemary Sheehan AM along with Aboriginal research leader Professor Yin Paradies and former head of the Australian Bureau of Statistics Adjunct Professor David Kalisch.

Australia’s learned academies (of which there are five) gather our best and brightest minds from universities and research institutes across the country. For 50 years, research and advice from Fellows of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia has shaped government policies, been called on by Australia’s leaders, and played a key role in shaping our nation. Today’s announcement brings the number of Fellows in the Academy to 742.

President of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia Professor Jane Hall congratulated the new Fellows on their election.

“These new Fellows are at the forefront of social research and policy, and they have made enormous contributions to our society as a whole,” she said. “It is an honour to have these individuals as new Fellows of the Academy.”

The social sciences are concerned with the functioning and structure of society and include the disciplines of anthropology, demography, geography, linguistics, sociology, management, accounting, economics and economic history, marketing, statistics, history, law, philosophy, political science, education, psychology, and health sciences.

A list of 2021 new Fellows appears on the following two pages. Full profiles of the new members can be found after the announcement embargo lifts at: www.socialsciences.org.au/2021fellows/ and information about each new Fellow is being shared on the Academy’s social channels @AcadSocSci.

An online event featuring brief presentations from each of the new Fellows will be held on 24 November, 4:30-7:00 pm AEDT. This event is open to the public via the Academy’s website: https://socialsciences.org.au/events/2021-new-fellows-presentations/.

See profiles of all of the new Fellows here.

New Fellows elected to the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia in 2021.

  • Professor Frederik Anseel FASSA, Deputy Dean Research (Research & Enterprise), School of Management & Governance, UNSW Business School
  • Professor Wayan Arka FASSA, Professor Linguistics, College of Arts and Social Sciences, ANU
  • Scientia Professor Bernard Balleine FASSA, Decision Neuroscience Lab, School of Psychology, UNSW
  • Professor Adrian Barnett FASSA, Australian Centre for Health Services Innovation and Centre for Healthcare Transformation, School of Public Health and Social Work, Queensland University of Technology
  • Professor Mark Bellgrove FASSA, School of Psychological Sciences and Turner Institute for Brain and Mental Health, Monash University
  • Professor Michael Berk FASSA FAHMS, Director, Institute for Innovation in Mental and Physical Health and Clinical Translation (IMPACT), School of Medicine, Deakin University
  • Emerita Professor Heather Booth FASSA, School of Demography, ANU
  • Professor Andrew Burton-Jones FASSA, Professor of Business Information Systems, University of Queensland Business School
  • Professor Ray Chambers FASSA, School of Mathematics and Applied Statistics, University of Wollongong
  • Professor Catharine Coleborne FASSA, Head of School and Dean of Arts, University of Newcastle
  • Professor Susan Danby FASSA, Director, ARC Centre of Excellence for the Digital Child, Queensland University of Technology
  • Professor Sara Davies FASSA, Research Director, School of Government and International Relations, Griffith University
  • Professor Chris Edmond FASSA, Department of Economics, University of Melbourne
  • Professor Nisvan Erkal FASSA, Faculty of Business and Economics, University of Melbourne
  • Professor Robert Faff FASSA, University of Queensland Business School,
  • Professor Michael Farrell FASSA, Director, National Drug & Alcohol Research Centre, UNSW
  • Professor Marilyn Fleer FASSA, Laureate Professor, Faculty of Education, Monash University
  • Professor Clinton Free FASSA, Faculty of Accounting, University of Sydney Business School
  • Professor Nicole Gillespie FASSA, Professor of Management and KPMG Chair in Organisational Trust, University of Queensland Business School
  • Emeritus Professor Boyd Hunter FASSA, Centre for Social Research and Methods, ANU
  • Emeritus Professor Andrew Jakubowicz FASSA, School of Communication, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, University of Technology Sydney
  • Adjunct Professor David Kalisch FASSA, Faculty of Business, Government and Law, University of Canberra
  • Professor David Kinley FASSA, Chair of Human Rights Law, Sydney Law School, University of Sydney
  • Professor Paula McDonald FASSA, Associate Dean, Research, Faculty of Business and Law, Queensland University of Technology
  • Professor Bronwen Morgan FASSA, UNSW Law, University of New South Wales
  • Professor Nathalie Nguyen FASSA, School of Philosophical, Historical and International Studies, Monash University
  • Professor Yin Paradies FASSA, Professor of Race relations, School of Humanities and Social Sciences, Deakin University
  • Emeritus Professor Lynette Parker FASSA, School of Social Sciences, University of Western Australia
  • Professor Martine Powell FASSA, Founding Director, Centre for Investigative Interviewing, Griffith Criminology Institute, Griffith University
  • Associate Professor Kalpana Ram FASSA, School of Culture History and Language, ANU
  • Professor Alison Ritter AO FASSA, Director, Drug Policy Modelling Program, Social Policy Research Centre, UNSW
  • Professor Sean Scalmer FASSA, School of Historical and Philosophical Studies, University of Melbourne
  • Professor Rosemary Sheehan AM FASSA, Department of Social Work, School of Primary and Allied Health Care, Monash University
  • Professor Tom Smith FASSA, School of Applied Finance, Macquarie Business School, Macquarie University
  • Professor Deborah Stevenson FASSA, Institute for Culture and Society, Western Sydney University
  • Professor Frans Verstraten FASSA, McCaughey Chair of Psychology, Faculty of Science, School of Psychology, University of Sydney
  • Professor Helen Watt FASSA, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, School of Education and Social Work, University of Sydney

9 November, 2021