The Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia was established in 1971 to recognise and champion excellence in the social sciences and to provide evidence-based advice on a range of social policy issues.

The Academy comprises of an elected Fellowship of over 700 distinguished Australian social science researchers and professionals who work together to:

  • Provide advice to governments on issues of national importance;
  • Promote understanding and awareness of the social sciences; and
  • Coordinate international cooperation and collaboration in the social sciences.

The Academy is an independent, non-government organisation committed to equity, diversity and inclusion in the social sciences; particularly the involvement and recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.