A select group of Australia’s leading social scientists have been elected as Fellows of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia.

Among the 34 researchers elected are leaders in human geography, autism, international security, Indigenous health and cultural property law.

The 2022 new Fellows include 20 women and 14 men, among them three Indigenous leaders—Professors Tom Calma, Bronwyn Fredericks, and Jakelin Troy—and former WA Premier, Professor Geoff Gallop.

‘These new Fellows represent the best and brightest minds from around the country. They are at the forefront of social science research and public policy,’ said Academy President Professor Richard Holden.

‘I congratulate the new Fellows on their election. It is one of the most prestigious forms of recognition of their enormous contribution to our society.

‘For 50 years, research and advice from Fellows of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia have helped shape the nation. In troubled times and in boom times Fellows are called on by Australia’s leaders to advise on government policy and apply themselves to the most challenging problems facing society. Their work helps all of us to better understand what it is to be human and to participate in our society and shape its institutions.’

‘We welcome the new Fellows and are honoured to have them join the Academy.’

The social sciences focus on understanding and influencing the social world. They include the disciplines of anthropology, demography, geography, linguistics, sociology, criminology, management, accounting, economics, marketing, statistics, history, law, philosophy, political science, education, psychology, and public health, among others.

A video introducing the new Fellows can be found below and information about each new Fellow can be found online and on the Academy’s social channels @AcadSocSci.

An in-person and online event featuring short presentations from each of the new Fellows will be held on 28 November, 6:30-9:30 pm AEDT. This free event is open to the public via the Academy’s website: https://socialsciences.org.au/events/2022-new-fellows-presentations/.

New Fellows elected to the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia in 2022 are:

Professor Rachel Ankeny FASSA, Departments of History and Philosophy, School of Humanities, The University of Adelaide

Professor Sascha Becker FASSA, Xiaokai Yang Chair of Business and Economics, Monash Business School, Monash University

Professor Peng Bi FASSA, Professor of Public Health and Environmental Medicine, School of Public Health, The University of Adelaide

Professor Kathy Bowrey FASSA, Faculty of Law & Justice, School of Law, Society and Criminology, UNSW Sydney

Professor Robert Breunig FASSA, Director, Tax and Transfer Policy Institute and Chair of Tax Policy and Public Finance, Crawford School of Public PolicyThe Australian National University

Professor Henry Brodaty AO FASSA FAHMS, Scientia Professor and Co-Director, Centre for Healthy Brain Ageing, Discipline of Psychiatry and Mental Health, UNSW Sydney

Professor Tom Calma AO FASSA FAA, Chancellor, University of Canberra

Professor Mandy Cheng FASSA, School of Accounting, Auditing and Taxation, UNSW Business School, UNSW Sydney

Professor Monica Cuskelly FASSA, Professor, School of Education and Director of Research, Applied Research Centre for Disability and Wellbeing, College of Arts, Law and Education, University of Tasmania

Professor Cheryl Dissanayake AM FASSA, Director and Chair, Olga Tennison Autism Research Centre, School of Psychology and Public Health, La Trobe University

Professor Kim Dovey FASSA, Chair of Architecture & Urban Design, Melbourne School of Design, University of Melbourne 

Professor Michele Ford FASSA, Professor of Southeast Asian Studies and Director, Sydney Southeast Asia Centre, The University of Sydney 

Professor Michelle Foster FASSA, Professor and Director, Peter McMullin Centre on Statelessness, Melbourne Law School, University of Melbourne 

Professor Bronwyn Fredericks FASSA, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Engagement), University of Queensland  

Professor Marylene Gagne FASSA, John Curtin Distinguished Professor, Future of Work Institute, Faculty of Business and Law, Curtin University

Professor Emeritus Geoff Gallop AC FASSA, Emeritus Professor, University of Sydney

Professor Lisa Given FASSA, Professor of Information Sciences and Director, Enabling Impact Platform, School of Global, Urban and Social Studies & School of Computing Technologies, RMIT University

Professor Evelyn Goh FASSA, Shedden Professor of Strategic Policy Studies, Strategic and Defence Studies Centre, Coral Bell School of Asia Pacific Affairs, The Australian National University

Professor Anita Harris FASSA, Alfred Deakin Institute for Citizenship and Globalisation, Deakin University 

Professor Guyonne Kalb FASSA, Professorial Fellow, Melbourne Institute of Applied Economic and Social Research, Faculty of Business and Economics, University of Melbourne 

Professor Emerita Grace Karskens FASSA FAHA, School of Humanities and Languages, Faculty of Arts, Design and Architecture, UNSW Sydney

Professor Simon Killcross FASSA, Professor and Head of School of Psychology, UNSW Sydney 

Professor Janet McColl-Kennedy FASSA, Professor of Marketing and Director of Research,  UQ Business School, University of Queensland

Professor Sharynne McLeod FASSA, Professor of Speech and Language Acquisition, School of Education, Faculty of Arts and Education, Charles Sturt University

Professor Francesca Merlan FASSA, Professor Emerita, School of Archaeology and Anthropology, ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences, The Australian National University

Professor Tiffany Morrison FASSA, Professorial Research Fellow, ARC Centre of Excellence for Coral Reef Studies, James Cook University

Professor Hans Pols FASSA FAHA, School of History and Philosophy of Science, Faculty of Science, The University of Sydney 

Professor Ben Saul FASSA, Challis Chair of International Law, Sydney Law School, The University of Sydney 

Professor Brad Sherman FASSA, School of Law, University of Queensland

Professor Russell Smyth FASSA, Department of Economics, Monash Business School, Monash University

Professor Deborah Street FASSA, Centre for Health Economics Research and Evaluation (CHERE), University of Technology Sydney

Professor Jakelin Troy FASSA, Professor, Department of Linguistics and Director, Indigenous Research, Office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research, The University of Sydney 

Professor Harald van Heerde FASSA, Research Professor of Marketing, School of Marketing, UNSW Business School, UNSW Sydney

Professor Roger Wilkins FASSA, Professorial Fellow, Melbourne Institute of Applied Economic and Social Research, Faculty of Business and Economics