Six Fellows of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia have been recognised for their contributions to academic leadership, the social sciences, research and education in the 2023 King’s Birthday Honours list. Among those honoured is former President of the Academy, Jane Hall AO, FASSA FAHMS.

Officers of the Order of Australia

  • Distinguished Professor Jane Hall AO FASSA FAHMS, from the University of Technology Sydney. For distinguished service to the social sciences, including as Academy President, and for academic leadership and mentoring in the field of health economics. 
  • Scientia Professor Louisa Degenhardt AO FASSA from the University of New South Wales. For distinguished service to medical research, particularly addiction and mental disorders, to psychology, and to professional associations. 

Members of the Order of Australia 

  • Professor Mark Considine AM FASSA from the University of Melbourne. For significant service to education, and to the political and social sciences. 
  • Professor Anthony Elliott AM FASSA, from the University of South Australia. For significant service to education, and to social science policy and research. 
  • Scientia Professor John Roberts AM FASSA from the University of NSW. For significant service to tertiary education, and to business and management. 
  • Scientia Professor Carla Treloar AM FASSA from the University of NSW. For significant service to social research, and to tertiary education. 

The Governor-General’s announcement noted that for the first time since the Order of Australia was established in 1975, ‘the majority of recipients in the General Division are women. Similarly, there is gender parity or better at the three highest levels in the Order.’

The Academy congratulates these Fellows and all other Australians recognised for their contributions under the Order of Australia.