Four Academy Fellows are among the 90 leading experts announced as new appointments to the prestigious Australian Research Council (ARC) College of Experts.

Professors Cathy Coleborne (University of Newcastle), Bronwyn Fredericks (University of Qld), David Goodman (University of Sydney) and Gavan McNally (University of NSW) join eight other Academy Fellows on the 270-strong College responsible for final review and recommendations on applications to the ARC’s $900 million annual funding programs.

These experts are drawn from across all research disciplines and are required to oversee the review and assessment of projects that range enormously in scope, from mathematical theory to materials engineering, and from complex social psychology to cultural evolutions in Europe or Asia.

Experts in the college serve three-year terms, and appointments are made through a competitive process, based on experience and expertise. The four Academy Fellows appointed in this round join Academy Fellows Jakelin Troy, Rosemary Sheehan, Amanda Nettlebeck, Felicity Meakins, Jolanda Jetten, Helen Irving, Anthony Elliott and Stephen Billett as members of the College.