Edited by Anika Gauja, Marian Sawer, and Marian Simms.

ANU Press


9781760463618 b thumb morrison miracleThis book, the 17th in the federal election series and the ninth sponsored by the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia, provides a comprehensive account of the 2019 Australian election, which resulted in the surprise victory of the Coalition under Scott Morrison. It brings together 36 contributors who analyse voter behaviour, campaign strategies, regional variations, polling, ideology, media and the new importance of memes and digital campaigning. Morrison’s victory underlined the continuing trend toward the personalisation of politics and the loss of trust in political institutions, both in Australia and across western democracies. Morrison’s Miracle is indispensable for understanding the May 2019 Coalition victory, which surprised many observers and confounded pollsters and political pundits.


About the Editors:

Anika Gauja is an Associate Professor in the Department of Government and International Relations at the University of Sydney. Her research focuses on comparative party politics and organisation. She has also written extensively on Australian politics as co-author of Powerscape:
Contemporary Australian Politics (Allen & Unwin, 2008), and co-editor of Contemporary Australian Political Party Organisations (Monash University
Publishing, 2015) and Double Disillusion: The 2016 Australian Federal Election (ANU Press, 2018).

Marian Sawer is Emeritus Professor and Public Policy Fellow at The Australian National University and a Fellow of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia. She has led the Democratic Audit of Australia and has a longstanding interest in political finance. Her most recent book, coedited with Kerryn Baker, is Gender Innovation in Political Science:
New Norms, New Knowledge (Palgrave, 2019).

Marian Simms is Adjunct Professor at the Institute for Governance and Policy Analysis at the University of Canberra. She has held senior academic roles at The Australian National University, the University of Otago and Deakin University. She is a former president of the Australian Political Studies Association, former editor of the Australian Journal of Political Science, established the current partnership between ASSA and the election study group and has edited or co-edited six previous ASSA election studies. In 2003, Marian was awarded a Centenary Medal for her work on Australia’s first federal election in 1901.


Available at ANU Press.