BEc (Hons) (Sydney); MA (USASK); MA, PhD (JHU)

My early research was concentrated on international banking, the Eurocurrency markets, and reform for the international financial system.

I have since focused on a wide range of domestic public policy issues, as fundamental elements of a broad-based reform agenda, in the context of the global challenge to transition to a low-debt, low-carbon society, and the increasing constraint of short-term, populous, mostly negative, politics.

I have contributed extensively to debates on financial sector deregulation and reform, political reform, lower protection, enterprise wage bargaining, privatisation and other micro-reform, immigration and refugees, defence and foreign policy, energy policy and renewables, and infrastructure financing and development both in Australia and Asia.

Current: Professorial Fellow and Chair, Tax and Transfer Policy Institute, Crawford School, The Australian National University

Academic Career

Professor of Economics, University of New South Wales (appointed ’76 -11 years) and Head, School of Economics (4 years)

Professor of Management and Dean, Macquarie Graduate School of Management (2 1/2 years)

Political Career

Member For Wentworth in the Federal Parliament-8 years

Shadow Minister for Finance

Shadow Treasurer

Leader of the Liberal Party, Leader of the Federal Coalition, and Leader of the Opposition- 4 years

Shadow Minister for the Arts

Shadow Minister for Industry, Commerce, Infrastructure and Customs

Business Career

Chairman, ABN AMRO Australia, and Member Advisory Board (11 years)

Director, Moran Healthcare Group, Chairman, Pulse Health, Chairman, People First Retirement Living

Director, GRD and Minproc Engineers

Chairman, Belle Property

Deputy Chairman, The Television Shopping Network

Director, IT&T Services

Chairman, Strategic Capital Management

Chairman, Australian Bus Manufacturing Company, and Deputy Chairman, The Qingdao Pacific Coach Company

Director, E.G.Funds Management- current

Chairman, Global Renewables Limited

Chairman, EnergyMad

Chairman, Natural Fuels Limited

Fellow, Australian Institute of Company Directors (FAICD)

Fellow, Finance and Treasury Association (FFTP(Hon))

Affiliate, The Securities Institute of Australia (ASIA)

Fellow, The Hong Kong Management Association

Member in the Order of Australia- For service to business and economics, to the Australian Parliament and politics, and to the community.

Centenary Medal

Woodrow Wilson Fellow

Lifetime Achievement Award University of Regina, November 2009

Order Of Merit, Australian Olympic Committee May 2010

The Politics of Tax Reform in Australia, Asia & The Pacific Policy Studies, Vol 1, Issue 3, Sept 2014