Shaping the Future: A new approach to policy that works for young people

The Steering Group for the Youth Policy roundtable included: Ariadne Vromen FASSA, Johanna Wyn FASSA, Lucas Walsh, Pip Collin, Zarah Al-Hilaly, Trang Nguyen, Justin Barker and Joanna Siejka.

Andrea Verdich
Policy Director

Date & Time

November 15, 2023
8.45am - 3.30pm



View map


Invitation only


2023 , Roundtables

A comprehensive summary of Shaping the Future: A new approach to policy that works for young people is available to read and download now.


Shaping the Future: A new approach to policy that works for young people is a nationally significant conversation on how young people are positioned within the policy development and implementation landscape in Australia.

Delivered in partnership with the Australian Youth Affairs Coalition and Monash Centre for Youth Policy and Education Practice, the invitation only roundtable connected policymakers, young people and the youth sector with a multidisciplinary group of Academy Fellows and social sciences experts to consider the current state, international leading practice and interrelated thematic area priorities: belonging, wellbeing and security.

Presenters and speakers include:

Chair for the day and discussion lead: Professor Ariadne Vromen FASSA

Opening remarks

  • Kiara Petterson, Youth Steering Committee
  • The Hon Dr Anne Ally MP, Minister for Early Childhood Education and Minister for Youth

Session 1: Youth policy in Australia and international leading practice

  • Professor Lucas Walsh, Director, Monash Centre for Youth Policy and Education Practice
  • Moritz Ader, Policy Analyst, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development

Session 2: Belonging

  • Professor Anita Harris FASSA, Alfred Deakin Institute for Citizenship and Globalisation
  • Professor Hernan Cuervo, Melbourne Graduate School of Education, University of Melbourne
  • Zarah Al-Hilaly (discussant), Oaktree

Session 3: Wellbeing

  • Professor Patrick McGorry AO FASSA, Orygen
  • Professor Amanda Third, Young and Resilient Research Centre
  • Professor Juanita Sherwood, University of Technology Sydney
  • Maia Giordano (discussant), Australian Association of Adolescent Health

Session 4: Security

  • Professor Bob Breunig FASSA, Tax and Transfer Policy Institute
  • A/Professor Steve Threadgold, Newcastle Youth Studies Centre
  • Dr Julia Cook, Newcastle Youth Studies Centre
  • Thomas Walker (discussant), Think Forward

Share this event

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website may contain images, voices and names of deceased persons.

Quick search...