21 Academy Fellows have been named among Australia’s top researchers in a Special Report by The Australian, with Professors Andrew Martin and Vedi Hadiz (pictured below left) recognised as two of nine Australian-based world leaders in their field.

The Fellows included in this year’s report are:

Professor David Andrich (pictured below right) is the Chapple Professor of Education in the Graduate School of Education, the University of Western Australia. He was elected to the Academy in 1990 and specialises in social measurement in education, psychology and sociology.

Professor Neal Ashkanasy OAM is Professor of Management in the University of Queensland Business School. His research focuses on leadership, organisational culture ethics and emotions in organisations. He was elected to the Academy in 2010 and was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia in 2017.

Professor Robert Costanza is the Vice Chancellor’s Chair in public policy at the Crawford School of Public Policy at the ANU. His focus is on transdisciplinary research that integrates and addresses issues across the human, ecological and environmental spheres. He was elected to the Academy in 2019.

Professor Louisa Degenhardt is Scientia Professor and Deputy Director o the National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre at the University of NSW. Her work involves large-scale community and clinical studies aimed at understanding, monitoring and mitigating the impacts of dangerous and dependent drug use. She was elected to the Academy in 2016.

Professor Sara Dolnicar is professor of Tourism at the University of Queensland Faculty of Business, Economics and Law and one of the world’s leading researchers on market-segmentation and sustainability in tourism. She was elected to the Academy in 2019 and appeared in our recent Seriously Social podcast on the topic of Tourism in a post-COVID world (listen here).

Professor Robyn Dowling (pictured below right) is Dean and Head of School of Architecture Design and Planning at the University of Sydney. She is a leading geographer with expertise in urban governance and adaptation. She was elected to the Academy in 2018.

Professor Vedi Hadiz (pictured above left) is one of the top nine Australian world-research leaders and a specialist in the political economy and political sociology of Indonesia and South East Asia. His work has been instrumental in developing our understanding of the trajectory of Islamic politics under both authoritarian and democratic eras. Professor Hadiz is Director of the Asia Institute at the University of Melbourne and was elected to the Academy in 2017.

Professor Brian Head (pictured below right) is Acting Director of the Centre for Policy Futures at the University of Queensland and has previously held senior positions with government, universities and not-for-profit organisations. His research interests focus on understanding and building closer links between the research and policy sectors and in strengthening capacity for evidence-based policy development on complex problems. He was elected to the Academy in 2012.

Professor Julie Henry is a clinical psychologist and ARC Future Fellow at the University of Queensland where she is Director of the Qld Multidisciplinary Initiative for Neurocognitive Disorders (The QLD MIND Project). Her work focuses on disruptions to social cognitive abilities (for example, recognising facial expressions) are disrupted by ageing and illness. She was elected to the Academy in 2019

Professor David Hensher is Professor and Founding Director of the Institute of Transport and Logistics Studies at the University of Sydney and is a leader in the field of transportation. He has advised numerous government and private sector organisations in many countries on matters related to transportation, especially matters related to forecasting demand for existing and new transportation services. He was elected to the Academy in 1995.

Professor Bob Lingard is Emeritus Professor at the School of Education, the University of Queensland and is a leader in the sociology of education and education policy. He has served on many government and academic boards and committees concerned with the quality of education and educational leadership in both Australia and in the UK. He was elected to the Academy in 2011.

Professor Herb Marsh is a world-leading educational psychologist and Professor at the Institute for Positive Psychology and Education at the Australian Catholic University. He has been recognised as the most productive educational psychologist in the world and the 11th most productive researcher across all disciplines of psychology. He was elected to the Academy in 1994.

Professor Andrew Martin (pictured above left) is Scientia Professor of Educational Psychology at the University of  NSW, and co-Chair of the Educational Psychology Research Group. He is a Fellow of the American Psychological Association, the Australian College of Educational and Developmental Psychologists, and President of the International Association of Applied Psychology’s Educational and School Psychology Division. He was elected to the Academy in 2016 and in 2020 contributed to a report to the Federal Education Minister on the impact of COVID-19 related home schooling on educational outcomes.

Professor Pat McGorry AO is Professor of Youth Mental Health at the University of Melbourne, Executive Director of the ORYGEN Research Centre and Chair of “Headspace”, the Youth Mental Health Foundation. He was Australian of the Year in 2010 and is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science. He was elected to the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia in 2006.

Professor Sarah Medland OAM is research Group Leader and Coordinator of the Mental Health Program at the QUMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute. Her work focuses on the impact of psychiatric disorders such Schizophrenia and non-neurological diseases on brain structure and function. She was elected to the Academy in 2019.

Professor Sharon Parker is John Curtin Distinguished Professor at Curtin University where she focuses on  work design, employee well-being and stress, organisational change, employee proactivity, positive psychology, and job performance. She was elected to the Academy in 2014 and appeared in our recent Seriously Social podcast on the topic of work in the age of COVID-19 (listen here).

Professor David Treagust is John Curtin Distinguished Professor at Curtin University with expertise in science education. His research focuses on identification design and implementation of interventions and assessment to improve students’ understanding of science concepts. He was elected to the Academy in 2019.


A further four Fellows were included as authors in the list of the ten most influential academic books:

Professor Raewyn Connell from Sydney University for her book Gender and Power: Society, the Person and Sexual Politics (published 2013)

Professor John Dryzek from the University of Canberra for his book The politics of the Earth: Environmental discourses (published 2013)

Professor George Paxinos AO from the University of NSW for his seminal neuroscience reference book The mouse brain in stereotaxic coordinates (first published in 1982; fifth edition published in 2019)

Professor Linda Weiss AM from the University of Sydney for her book The myth of the powerless state (published 1998)


The Top Researchers report in The Australian is available here.